International English Language Testing System

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS) is a standardized examination created to evaluate the English language proficiency of individuals planning to pursue studies or

employment opportunities in English-speaking nations. It is extensively acknowledged and endorsed by educational institutions, employers, and immigration authorities worldwide.

Why take the test?

Being one of the prime exams for testing English proficiency, the IELTS exam is recognized by more than 11,000 universities globally. With over 1000 test locations in more than 140 countries, it is accessible for most people. The IELTS test isn’t just essential for pursuing work or studying in foreign countries and helps students hone their English speaking and writing skills. A good command of English helps visa-granting authorities ensure that one can easily communicate with the locals and won’t face major communication barriers later.


Test Formats:
  • IELTS Academic: This version is suitable for individuals applying for higher education or professional registration in an English-speaking environment.
  • IELTS General Training: This version is typically taken by individuals who plan to migrate to English-speaking countries for work, training programs, or secondary education.
Test Sections:
  • Listening: Assessing the ability to understand spoken English
  • Reading: Evaluating the ability to comprehend written texts
  • Writing: Measuring the ability to express ideas in written form.
  • Speaking: Examining the ability to communicate verbally in English
  • Each section (listening, reading, writing, and speaking) is scored on a scale from 0 to 9.
  • The overall band score is the average of the four individual section scores.
  • Different institutions and organizations may have specific score requirements, so it's essential for test-takers to check the requirements of their intended destination.
Test Duration:
  • The total test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes.
  • Listening, Reading, and Writing are completed in one sitting, while the Speaking test may be conducted on the same day or up to a week before or after the other sections.
IELTS scores are valid for two years.
Test Preparation:
  • Many resources, including official IELTS practice materials, are available for test preparation.
  • Familiarizing yourself with the test format, practicing with sample questions, and seeking feedback on your performance can be beneficial.
Test-takers can register for the IELTS exam at authorized test centers, and it's advisable to do so well in advance of the intended test date.


  1. Listening:
    • Format: The Listening section is divided into four parts, each with a different type of listening task. It includes conversations, monologues, and discussions.
    • Objective: This section evaluates a test-taker's ability to understand spoken English in various contexts, such as everyday conversations, academic lectures, and discussions.
  2. Reading:
    • Format: The Reading section consists of three passages with a variety of question types, including multiple-choice, matching, and True/False/Not Given.
    • Objective: The Reading section assesses a test-taker's ability to understand, interpret, and analyze written information in different styles and for various purposes.
  3. Writing:
    • Task 1 (Academic): Test-takers are presented with a visual representation (graph, chart, diagram, or table) and are required to describe, summarize, or explain the information in their own words.
    • Task 2 (Both Academic and General Training): Test-takers are presented with a topic and asked to write an essay expressing their opinion, discussing an issue, or presenting arguments.
    • Objective: The Writing section evaluates a test-taker's ability to communicate effectively in writing, addressing different types of tasks and demonstrating coherence and cohesion in their responses.
  4. Speaking:
    • Part 1: Introduction and Interview (personal questions about familiar topics).
    • Part 2: Long Turn (test-takers receive a task card with a topic and have one minute to prepare before speaking for 1-2 minutes on the topic).
    • Part 3: Discussion (test-takers engage in a more extended discussion with the examiner on abstract topics related to Part 2).
    • Objective: The Speaking section assesses a test-taker's ability to communicate verbally in English, including pronunciation, vocabulary, grammatical range, and coherence.

IELTS Exam Registration Process